The State Court handles all misdemeanor criminal cases and traffic violations with the assistance of the State Court Solicitor and a locally appointed Public Defender. The State Court also handles civil matters not exclusively reserved for the Superior Court. As of January 1, 2019, Georgia law requires that all civil cases filed by attorneys in the State Court be filed electronically. Our e-filing provider is PeachCourt, which may be accessed at www.peachcourt.com. The civil filing fee is $212. If service by the Sheriff's Office is required, there is an additional fee of $50.
Self Represented Parties: We accept credit/debit cards, money orders, or cash, but no personal checks, for civil filing fees and copy fees. For copy fees paid by credit/debit card, there is a $10 minimum. The State Court Judge is elected by the citizens of Washington County. The State Court Judge of Washington County is Judge John A. Dana. The Solicitor of the State Court is also elected by the citizens of Washington County. The Solicitor of the State Court is Michael Howard.
Michael Howard, Solicitor
P.O. Box 5746
Sandersville, GA 31082
If you would like to apply for the services of the State Court Public Defender, please contact Allen Smith at 478-552-8272.
2023 State Court Calendar
- January 23
- February 27
- March 27
- April 24
- May 22
- June 26
- July 24
- August 28
- September 25
- October 23
- November 13
- December 11
State Court trials are normally held in January, May, and August at 9 am. To schedule a civil hearing in State Court, please contact the Clerk's Office at 478-552-3186.
Payment of Traffic Citations
Traffic citations may be paid prior to court to the Clerk's Office via cash, money order, cashier's check, or debit/credit card payments. Online payments can be made on the Washington County Clerk of Court's payment website.
Note: a 5% transaction fee is applied to all debit/credit card payments. Fines for serious traffic violations are set by the State Court Judge and require court attendance.
Fees for Copies of Records:
- Copies - $1 per page (O.C.G.A. §15-6-77(g))
- Certified Copies - $2.50 for the first page, $0.50 for each page thereafter (O.C.G.A. 15-6-77(g))
If you have any questions or need assistance concerning State Court criminal cases, please contact Crystal Kitchens, Deputy Clerk. If you have any questions or need assistance concerning State Court civil cases, please contact Megan Cramer, Clerk.